War  |  Memory  |  Gratitude

2021 Gordon Graham Prize for Naga Literature


The Gordon Graham Prize for Naga Literature is awarded annually in recognition of the knowledge-keepers and idea-givers of Naga society.

The Gordon Graham Prize for Naga Literature 2021: the shortlist is announced!


Fiction category:

1. Dreams and Chaos by Sentilong Ozukum

2. Once Upon a Time in Kohima by Konaei Shongdok

3. The Unlikely Indian by Nzan Kikon

4. Waiting for the Dust to Settle by Veio Pou


Non-Fiction category:

1. A Beginner’s Guide to the Butterflies of the Himalayan Realm by Wonchi and Mhayani Murry

2. Infrastructure of Injustice: State and Politics in Manipur and Northeast India by Raile Rocky Ziipao

3. The Chang Nagas: In Memory of Our Ancestors by Wongto Chingmak

4. The Lost Mission: A true story of love, sacrifice & betrayal by Pekingto Y Jimo,

5. Thipuzu: A World of its Own by Sezolü Khamu 

6. A Girl Swallowed by a Tree: Lotha Naga Tales Retold by Nzanmongi Jasmine Patton.


Charles Chasie


Our KES President in Kohima, Charles Chasie, comments:

"This years’ entries were of a particularly high standard and the subject matter was far reaching. The readers took some time deciding on this shortlist as all had much to commend them.

The three judges will now have a couple of months to read the shortlisted titles to decide on the eventual winners. The winners will be announced during the last week of November in the build up to the Hornbill Festival.

The judges have been selected from noted Publishing houses in India/abroad and from among respected and well-known academic persons and intellectuals. We wish them well in their enjoyable task ahead."

Atul Singh


In addtion, we have the kind support of Atul Singh Founder, CEO and Editor-in-chief of Fair Observer, who comments:

“The Naga society has proved to be among the most resilient among the world. It has seen centuries of change compressed in a few decades. The expanding British Empire and the modern day states of Myanmar and India are home to the Naga peoples, a loosely defined yet cohesive group of ethnic groups. As many groups in Africa, the Nagas are beginning to record their own history and fashion their own narratives.

The Gordon Graham Prize for Naga Literature is a worthy endeavor to put the Naga perspectives on record. Through fiction and non-fiction, the prize encourages the Naga society to tell its own stories. Fair Observer would be delighted to publish them after they go through our editorial process. As the founder, nothing would give me greater pride than to publish authors from a land where I served as a young officer. My experiences with the Naga peoples have made me who I am today and I look forward to publishing more Naga voices.”

Read more

A real tennis court battle which changed history
by Brian Farmer BBC News, Norfolk
Kohima 80th Anniversary Remembrance, York
80th Anniversary events to commemorate the battles of Kohima & Imphal
80th Anniversary Gala Dinner, York
Guest speaker, General The Lord Richard Dannatt GCB CBE MC DL

Consider donating a KET scholarship